Honorees in 11 Categories will be honored at a gala dinner and ceremony on Oct. 19 at the Arthur Ross Terrace and Garden at Cooper Hewitt.

A diverse jury of design leaders and educators selected the winners after reviewing award submissions resulting from nominations submitted by design experts and enthusiasts. Nominees must have been practicing professionally for a minimum of seven years; Lifetime Achievement nominees must have been practicing professionally for a minimum of 20 years. Winners are selected based on their works’ excellence, innovation and public impact.

“In an era of tumultuous change, design is asking deep questions about its purpose and contributions to a better society,” said Caroline Baumann, director of Cooper Hewitt. “The achievements of this year’s class of National Design Award winners have informed that dialogue, and their accomplishments have elevated our understanding of what great American design is and what it can do to improve our world.”

Unlike the jury-selected awards, the Director’s Award is chosen by Baumann and given to an individual or organization in recognition of outstanding support and patronage within the design community.

Established in 2000 as a project of the White House Millennium Council, the National Design Awards are accompanied each year by National Design Week, which takes place this year Oct. 14–22.


Lifetime Achievement: Hartmut Esslinger

Director’s Award: Susan S. Szenasy

Design Mind: Craig L. Wilkins.

Corporate & Institutional Achievement: Design Trust for Public Space

Architecture Design: MASS Design Group

Communication Design: Jennifer Morla

Fashion Design: Slow and Steady Wins the Race

Interaction Design: Stamen Design

Interior Design: Deborah Berke Partners

Landscape Architecture: Surfacedesign

Product Design: Joe Doucet


Jeevak Badve: vice president, Sundberg-Ferar

Rafael de Cárdenas: founder, Rafael de Cárdenas / Architecture at Large

Ray Huf: director, Clemson Architecture Center

Randy J. Hunt: vice president of design, Etsy

Mia Lehrer: landscape urbanist, Mia Lehrer + Associates

Lisa Perry: designer, Lisa Perry Style

Sandy Speicher: partner and managing director of education, IDEO

Lisa Strausfeld: principal, InformationArt

Robert Wong: vice president, Creative Lab, Google, Inc.

For more information, visit Cooper Hewitt’s website.

Photos courtesy of Cooper Hewitt.